Cheap Home ESXi, XenServer or Hyper-V Server – Part 1

Today I played with my ESXi and recognized again that my server is definitely to slow to old and stops me from doing what I like to do. It is an old Dell PowerEdge SC1430 with just 2GB Ram.

I started to google around what solutions other people already created and I found a nice blog from a guy called Derek, he gave me some ideas. As well I checked the popular German magazine C’t for the last mainboard test to get an idea about the actual chipsets and technology. In the C’t 10/2011 I found a nice test and I started to check the compatibility with VMWare and other hypervisor. A few hours laters with googeling talking to one of my best friends I decided to buy the following:

Mainboard: Intel DQ67OWB3 ~ 100€
– Newest Socket 1155
– Powerful newest Intel chipset with graphic on-board
– AMT 7.0 for remote access even the OS is down save me a KVM-over-IP device
– Found a lot of people who used that board with VMWare and XenServer
– It’s Intel 🙂
– microATX
– Six SATA Ports

CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 Box ~ 230€
– Very Fast
– Hyper-Threading (sadly the Core-i5 with 1155 socket don’t have HT)
– vPro for AMT
– If you like to safe money buy a Core-i5 it’s save 80€

Ram: 16GB-Kit G.Skill RipJaws PC3-10667U CL9 ~ 100€
– Cheap and does what it does
– Very popular

Case: Aerocool Qs-202 Midi-Tower ~ 50€
– microATX
– Up to six 3,5 HDDs
– Cheap
– Nice tests available e.g. au-ja.de

Power: be quiet! Power supply 350W ~ 50€
– Cheap
– Quiet
– Save power
– Very popular

I already have hard disks and DVD drive around. The only thing which I may need is an additional NIC because some users reports the chipset is not working, other reporting works fine. As well I need a professional raid controller because ESXi does not work together with the cheap on board raid controllers. At the moment I am unsure which hypervisor I will use, because maybe I don’t need any extra hardware with XenServer or Hyper-V. XenServer support software raids and the Windows drivers will support the cheap raid controller and Windows as well support software raids. Similar to the NIC I think, lets see.

I will give you an update later when I build all together, please leave comments for feedback.

Update:
The power supply could’t deliver in time so I decided to go to a different as well with a bit more power.

Power: be quiet! Pure Power 430W ATX 2.3 (L7-430W/BN105) ~ 55€
– Cheap
– Quiet
– Save power
– Very popular

3 thoughts on “Cheap Home ESXi, XenServer or Hyper-V Server – Part 1

  1. Hi,

    I’m thinking about making a environment like yours.
    Is it working well, and is the servers running fast enough, or lagging?

    Could you please measure how much power the server takes?

    Thank you in advance.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.